From the charm of its small towns to the rugged beauty of its national parks, Wyoming is an attractive place to live—and an even better place to begin your journey as a real estate professional. But in order to connect residents of the Equality State with the properties of their dreams, you’ll need to first get your real estate license.
And that’s where we come in. Follow these six easy steps, and you’ll be launching your career in Wyoming real estate in no time.
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Wyoming
Let’s dive into these steps in a little more detail. Before long, you’ll be helping clients buy and sell mountain chalets in Jackson, ranch-style houses in Casper, and Victorian homes in Cheyenne.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Wyoming?
It costs approximately $1,000 to get your real estate license in Wyoming, including your prelicensing education. Some of the costs are fixed, such as the state’s licensing and exam fees, and others vary.
While you don’t need a college degree to become a real estate agent in Wyoming, you must complete the state-specific licensing process. The price of the required 68-hour prelicensing course (and optional exam prep materials) will vary depending on the provider you choose.
$80-$90 per portion (state and national)
Errors & Omissions Insurance Premium:
(Wyoming real estate license costs as of October 2023)
How to Get a Wyoming Real Estate Agent License in 6 Easy Steps
Before you begin, let’s make sure you’re eligible. Wyoming requires those seeking a real estate sales associate designation to be:
- At least 18 years old
- A United States citizen or lawful permanent resident
Already Licensed in Another State?
If you are a licensed attorney or have a degree in real estate, you may be able to waive some of your licensing requirements.
Wyoming doesn’t recognize formal reciprocity with other states. However, you can request the state waive its education requirements by presenting your work history and license type to the Wyoming Real Estate Commission (WREC).
If you’re actively licensed in another state, you must meet the following requirements to hold a real estate license in Wyoming:
- Submit two fingerprint cards
- Complete and pass the Wyoming Law Course
- Complete and pass the Salesperson II Course
- Pass the Wyoming State Exam for Salespersons
Visit the Wyoming Real Estate Commission website for more information.
Real Estate License Reciprocity & Portability: A State-by-State Guide
Ready to learn more about how to become a real estate agent in Wyoming? Here are the steps you’ll need to follow.
1. Complete a 68-hour Prelicensing Course
- Cost: $320-$900
- Time commitment: 2-5 weeks
Prelicensing courses kick off your real estate career, and you’ll have your choice of completing them online or in person. Your choice of course format will depend on your learning style and what suits your schedule best.
The amount of time you’ll need comes down to how much class time you allot per week. You can complete all 68 hours online; those who study at a faster pace will finish in a shorter amount of time. If you approach it like a 40-hour workweek, you could even finish in under two weeks.
The coursework consists of three classes:
- Salesperson I
- Salesperson II
- Wyoming Law
Prelicensing courses will often include extra features like exam prep, instructor support, and career resources, so it’s important to weigh these add-ons as you shop for providers. You can find a list of state-approved schools here.
Regardless of the school you choose, the state of Wyoming requires 68 hours of coursework before sitting for the licensing exam. You’ll learn:
- Real property characteristics, legal descriptions, and property use
- Forms of ownership, transfer and recordings of title
- Property value and appraisal
- Real estate contracts and agency
- Real estate practice
- Property disclosures and environmental issues
- Financing and settlement
- Real estate math calculations
- The real estate licensing agency’s powers
- Requirements governing the activities of licensees
- The Real Estate Recovery and Education Fund
- Land description
- The landlord-tenant relationship
- Foreclosure and redemption
- Statute of frauds
- Broker’s price opinion
You’ll need the help of a highly rated Wyoming real estate school to get through this weighty material. Most people choose a real estate school based on the cost and the educational format of the course. Here are the most popular options in terms of course design.
Wherever you live in Wyoming, you should be able to find a real estate school that meets in person during regularly scheduled sessions.
Classes that meet online at scheduled times are usually broadcast over Zoom (or another videoconferencing tool).
Self-paced Online Classes
On-demand real estate classes are extremely popular for those wanting to become real estate agents in Wyoming quickly. The course material may be presented in a series of slides, videos, and interactive content.
If you’re looking for a self-paced, online option, we recommend Colibri Real Estate. They’re one of our favorite national course providers and their prelicensing classes start at just $534 in Wyoming.
After you have completed your coursework, you must pass the course’s final exam. This non-proctored course exam will test your newfound knowledge of real estate law and real estate principles. Performing well is a good indication that you are ready for the Wyoming Real Estate Salesperson Exam.
2. Complete a Background Check
- Cost: $39
- Time commitment: 2-6 weeks
Wyoming requires that applicants submit two fingerprint cards to be processed before they will be issued a real estate salesperson license. You can submit them with the rest of your application or separately. However, fingerprint cards are only good for 90 days; if you don’t complete the application process within that time period, you will have to submit new fingerprint cards.
Despite this relatively short window, we recommend scheduling your fingerprinting appointment early in the application process. While Wyoming criminal history record checks are generally completed within two weeks, they can take as long as five to six weeks.
Fingerprints can be taken at a local law enforcement agency by calling for an appointment. Applicants must submit two fingerprint cards that are fully rolled and have clear impressions with an accurate pattern interpretation, ridge counting, and whorl tracing.
After your fingerprints are taken, the cards must be signed by an official and placed into a manila envelope that is then sealed and stamped by the official who took them. The official must also sign the stamp. The WREC will return the fingerprint cards if you don’t meet these requirements.
Along with your fingerprint cards, you must mail a letter including your name, email, and phone number—as well as a certified check or money order for $39 made payable to the Office of the Attorney General—to the WREC. Refer to these Wyoming instructions for fingerprint cards for more information.
3. Schedule & Pass the Wyoming Real Estate Salesperson Exam
Time to Complete:
Computer-based in-person or at-home, 120 questions
Bring to Testing Center:
Two forms of identification, including one current government-issued photo ID with signature
After completing your prelicensing education, you can schedule your real estate salesperson exam. In order to begin scheduling, you’ll need to register to take your exam with Pearson VUE, the company that administers the exam. The cost of the exam is $160 at a physical testing center and $180 for an online proctored exam.
How to Study for the Real Estate Exam: Tips & Strategies
The Wyoming Real Estate Salesperson Exam consists of two parts that review state and national real estate laws. A passing score for the test is 75%, which translates to 60 questions right out of 80 for the national section and 30 correct answers out of 40 for the state portion. The exam is purposefully difficult, so make sure to study sufficiently so you can pass on your first attempt.
OnVue administers the online test, which has the same number and type of questions. A live proctor will monitor you through the webcam on your workstation to provide a secure exam experience. If you decide to test online and not at a physical Pearson VUE testing location, you should first watch the short candidate experience video before beginning your online exam.
The in-person version of the Wyoming Real Estate Salesperson Exam is administered via computer. You will have 240 minutes, or four hours, to complete the entire exam.
You should arrive 30 minutes early at the testing site and bring two forms of identification with you, including one current government-issued photo ID that includes your signature. Pearson VUE’s candidate handbook outlines the types of government-issued identification they’ll accept. There’s also a lengthy list of items you’re prohibited from bringing to the exam room (including common items like hats, pens, and cell phones).
Testing sites for the Wyoming real estate exam are located in the following cities:
- Mountain View
If testing at a Pearson VUE site, you’ll get your score report at the test center. Going the online route? You’ll need to log into your Pearson VUE account to obtain it.
If you pass one part and fail the other, you only need to retake the part you failed. However, you must pass that section within six months of the first passed portion. Once you’ve passed both portions of the exam, you need to submit your application within 90 days. Candidates who do not meet the six-month time limit must retake both parts of the exam.
4. Obtain Errors & Omissions Insurance
- Cost: $13-$155
- Time commitment: 1 day
All active licensees in Wyoming must carry errors and omissions insurance. Also known as professional liability insurance, it typically protects brokerages and individual agents from getting sued by a client if they made a mistake related to a real estate transaction. It’ll cover the legal, defense, and court costs related to a claim.
You can use any insurance agency to find the E&O policy that works for you, so it’s best to take some time and research your options. You may also check with your sponsoring broker to see if you are covered under a firm policy at the brokerage.
WREC works closely with Rice Insurance Services Center to provide affordable options, but make sure to check with your principal broker to verify their firm requirements for coverage. In the case of Rice, the current annual premium is $13-$155.
Check out WREC’s FAQ on E&O for more information.
5. Find a Sponsoring Broker to Hire You
- Cost: Free
- Time commitment: 1-2 weeks
To hold an active real estate license in Wyoming, you must find a sponsoring brokerage with which to affiliate your license. A broker has received additional training, worked in the industry for at least two years, and passed the broker’s license exam.
Real Estate Broker vs. Agent: A Head-to-Head Analysis
Finding a broker to work under will feel like applying for a job. Once you’ve landed some broker interviews, you’ll want to ask each broker about the split (or how you and the brokerage will divide sales commissions). You’ll find that some brokerages will ask for a 50-50 split on commissions. Usually, brokerages that offer an even split will not charge monthly desk fees.
As you evaluate your options, remember that, as a commissioned salesperson, your income entirely depends on your abilities and effort. Some brokerages may offer you 70% of your commissions, a ratio that may rise to 100% after you’ve met a specific sales goal (or cap) for the year.
It’s important to be realistic about your earning potential in the first few months. It takes time to launch your new business. Some new agents choose to work part time so they can still bring in additional revenue as they’re learning the ropes. And if your brokerage does charge fees, you’ll have to pay them regardless of whether you’re closing deals or not.
Here are some questions to consider during your broker search:
- What is their reputation, both locally and nationally?
- What kind of real estate agents are they looking for?
- Are they technologically advanced and up to date with the latest systems?
- How do they support their agents with education and training?
- What kind of commission structure do they offer?
- Do they offer benefits?
- Do they provide agents with leads and marketing material?
- Is there room to grow with the brokerage?
As mentioned above, you must be employed or under contract with a sponsoring broker to activate your license. Your supervising brokerage will be required to sign page four of your Wyoming Salesperson Application for License, and it must be notarized as well, to confirm you will be affiliated with their company. In fact, when your license is issued, it will actually go to your broker, not you.
6. Complete the Licensing Process
- Cost: $300
- Time commitment: 1-2 weeks
The final step is a simple one. With all the above tasks completed, prepare your materials to apply for that hard-earned salesperson license. This license allows you to handle real estate transactions, including buying and selling properties, as well as manage the rental process.
Completed applications may be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org or mailed to 2617 Lincolnway, Suite H, Cheyenne, WY 82002. Regardless of which method you choose, you’ll need to attach the following documents to your application:
- $300 original licensure fee
- Two fingerprint cards and a $39 certified check or money order payable to the Office of the Attorney General
- Recent close-up photograph (no sunglasses)
- Salesperson I Certificate
- Salesperson II Certificate
- Wyoming Law Certificate
- Passing State Examination Score Report
- Passing National Examination Score Report
- Proof of legal presence
- Proof of errors and omissions insurance
- Service of Process Form (for non-residents only)
As mentioned above, you can submit your background check with the rest of your application through email and mail the fingerprint cards separately or mail it all together. Just make sure to follow the state instructions exactly.
And don’t forget—you must submit your application within 90 days of passing both portions of your Wyoming real estate exam.
Once your real estate salesperson license is issued, your license will be emailed to your sponsoring broker. Upon successful application review by the WREC, you will be recognized as a Wyoming salesperson in real estate.
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Wyoming: FAQs
Still not sure about the path forward? Get answers to common questions about how to become a real estate agent in Wyoming below.
Is the Wyoming real estate exam hard?
The passing rate for the Wyoming Real Estate Salesperson Exam is 75%, meaning a quarter of the people who take it do not pass. Be sure to pay attention during your prelicensing course and take studying seriously. If you put in the proper effort, you should pass on your first attempt. Otherwise, you’ll need to pay anywhere between $80 and $170 to take the test again.
How long does it take to become a real estate agent in Wyoming?
It usually takes prospective agents three to five months to get their real estate license in Wyoming. Most of the time spent getting your license will be in your 68-hour prelicensing course. If you enroll in a scheduled full-time course, you can usually complete your classes pretty quickly.
You might take longer if you decide to work online at your own pace. Self-paced courses, on the other hand, provide you the freedom to fit learning into your busy schedule at work and home. You’ll have to decide how to choose the course that works best for you.
Can I get my Wyoming real estate license online?
Do real estate agents make good money in Wyoming?
It all depends on the number of deals and commission splits, but according to The Close’s salary information database, the average real estate agent in Wyoming makes $65,408.
Whether you decide to commit yourself full time or part time to your new career, here are some important things to know about compensation as you begin your search for a brokerage partner.
- Split: This is how the company you work under will divide commissions between you and your broker. For example, a 50-50 split means that the brokerage and salesperson share the commission evenly. Some may offer you a larger share.
- Desk fee: Some brokerages may charge a monthly fee for access to equipment and support. If you are required to pay a desk fee, you might keep a larger share of your commissions via a better split. But the desk fee is collected whether you’ve closed a sale or not.
- Cap: Some brokerages might offer a cap, meaning once you bring in a certain amount, you’ll get to keep all of your commission.
What are the pros & cons of becoming a real estate agent in Wyoming?
More Career Resources From The Close
Licensed agents can get a steady stream of career help by subscribing to our newsletter. You’ll get the latest news, actionable real estate strategies, and insight from (and for) the world’s best real estate agents.